Prank Letter – Reply from Bishop of Limerick

July 2, 2007 at 12:03 am Leave a comment

On Friday I posted this prank letter that I sent a few years ago to several Irish Bishops, proposing an Irish festival called the Running of the Priests. Here’s the reply that I got from Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe. >>>

Reply from Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe

Dear Ms Byrne,

Thank you for your letter of the 6th September. On the lighter side, I don’t think you would want to see me running anywhere, with or without robes — the spectacle would be too much for most spectators who would die of heart attacks brought on either by laughter or terror.

The only time I ever won a race was nearly sixty years ago when I fled from an angry policeman with drawn revolver who had caught me throwing stones at windows. I had previously asked him what they did to boys who broke windows, and he said “first of all we shoot them, then we hang them and finally we drown them”, which was a singularly terrifying catalogue of punishments indeed.

Happily, I have reached an age where I can decline all invitations to run anywhere without being a spoilsport. If you do persuade any of the more athletic clergy (and/or Bishops?) to take part, I might come along to take photographs.

On the more serious side concerning the killing of God’s creatures, I’m not sure what to make of that, especially since we do it all the time on a massive scale. Our economy depends on it. Just visit the nearest butcher’s shop.

Whether Pamplona is more cruel than what goes on in an abattoir depends a great deal on whether the bulls know what lie in store for them. I understand that a skilled matador can dispatch a bull very quickly indeed, which means that not much suffering is involved, or at least no more than the animals experience in the “human” environment of the abattoir.

With all good wishes, yours sincerely,

Rev MG Hayes

Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe

Other Prank Letters

I’ll be posting prank letters or replies here every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

Entry filed under: Pranks, Religion.

Monday Quiz 2 – Speeding Fines and Arctic Monkeys Quiet Now – The John O’Donoghue Rap

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

