Archive for July 6, 2007

TDs Start Three-Month Summer Holidays

After a strenuous seven days of work since mid-June, the Dáil yesterday adjourned for a three-month summer holiday. But the Green Party argued against the long holidays, with Trevor Sargent saying that the Government wanted to insulate itself from scrutiny and accountability by sitting for less than 100 days a year. Oh no, wait, that’s what he said last year, not this year. >>> (more…)

July 6, 2007 at 2:28 am Leave a comment

There Must be a Meteorite Hit the Line

This is such a funny prank that I thought it might be scripted. Then I discovered that there is actually a Garda Michael Treacy at Westport Garda Station. Anyway, here is what happens when you telephone Westport and Castlebar Garda Stations at the same time, and link the two phone calls together.

July 6, 2007 at 12:06 am Leave a comment

Prank Letter – Reply from Charles J Haughey

On Wednesday I posted this prank letter that I sent in 1993 to Charles J Haughey, pleading with him to return to active politics and tempting him with loadsamoney. Here’s the reply that I got from Abbeville: >>> (more…)

July 6, 2007 at 12:04 am Leave a comment


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.