Prank Letter to Australian Museum

July 25, 2007 at 12:02 am Leave a comment

Here’s a prank letter that I sent to the Australian Museum a while ago, posing as an Irish performance artist and proposing a rather strange exhibition. >>>

The Letter

Dear Head of Exhibitions,

I am an Irish performance artist, and I would like to suggest an exhibition for your museum. It is inspired by your ‘Death: The Last Taboo’ exhibition last year, and the British Museum of Science’s ambitious plan to exhibit a decomposing human body.

I understand that the British project is endangered by practical and ethical concerns raised by pathologists and bereavement counsellors. My alternative project would remove these complications, while maintaining, and even adding to, the artistic integrity of the original concept.

I have provisionally entitled it: He Gave His Right Arm: the Decomposition Comparison.

I plan to have my right arm surgically amputated and displayed in a vacuum-filled glass case. Then I will undergo a strenuous programme of weight-training to build up my left arm. Every day, I will have my developing left arm photographed beside the exhibit of my decomposing right arm. This will facilitate an ongoing comparison between growth and decay, as well as life and death itself.

Would you be interested in hosting this exhibition? I do not need sponsorship, as I have sufficient funds to travel and maintain myself. I am doing this purely for its artistic worth. I should add that I am left-handed, so this would not hinder my ongoing artistic output.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Ernie Ferguson

The Reply

I’ll post the reply that I got from the Australian Museum on Friday.

Entry filed under: Fun, Pranks.

If It Bleeds, It Leads – Is There Any Good News? Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

