Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me, Me

July 26, 2007 at 12:31 am 2 comments

I have recently been ‘tagged’ by John Cav of the New(ish) Journalism, which means that I have to post eight random facts about myself and tag eight other bloggers and ask them to do likewise. This is a sufficiently childish challenge to warrant a considered response, so here we go. >>>

My Random Facts

1. I keep thinking Tom Barnaby of Midsomer Murders is Jim Bergerac. So I recently bought the box-sets of the first four series of Bergerac. Now I also keep thinking Jim Bergerac is Tom Barnaby. I am sure that this is not normal.

2. Some friends and I have an annual Christmas lunch at which we vote for the Eejit of the Year. My hot tips this year are Eddie Hobbs, for his photos in ‘You and Your Money’, and Liam O Maoinlai for his Irish phrases cd that was free with the Indo.

3. As a child I liked Gary Glitter, but in retrospect I prefer Slade because they combined equally good music with not being paedophiles.

4. When I was in College, after a student protest, the Dublin VEC wrote to my parents asking them to sign a guarantee about my behaviour. My parents wrote back to the head of the VEC, saying that the letter he had sent to them was not signed by his parents.

5. At least ten businesspeople still owe me money since the 1980s, when there were no laws in Ireland. Unlike them, I can sleep at night. Actually, knowing them, they probably can too. Except for one, who I think might be dead.

6. A traffic jam for me is if there are two cats, instead of one, between the bedroom and the computer room. When I am writing, I play looped background music. For the last while it has been Plaything by Plone.

7. Fave Writers: Dave Barry, Al Franken. Movies: Life of Brian, Pleasantville. TV shows: Big Brother, Curb Your Enthusiasm. Albums: Tubular Bells, Moon Safari. Bands: Beautiful South, Boards of Canada. Singers: Joss Stone, Tori Amos. Lyricists: Tom Lehrer, Randy Newman. Cults: William Shatner, Christianity.

8. I spend too much time on the Internet.

My Tags

I am tagging Antoin of Eire.com, Paige of Blank Paige, Graham of Why, That’s Delightful, the Skanger of Skangerland, Tadhg of Tiger’s Tail, Gerry of UnLaoised, Dan of Catalyst which isn’t a blog but I dare him to put it on his website, and Twenty Major who seems to have ignored being tagged by someone else, the bollocks.

If you don’t want to put your list on your blog, you can put it here as a comment instead (or as well). And you don’t have to tag eight other people if you don’t have the time, or if you have a real life. But if you ignore this completely, you will die at some stage within the next hundred years.

Entry filed under: Culture, Ireland.

Prank Letter to Australian Museum Prank Letter – Reply from Australian Museum

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Cav  |  July 26, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Great facts one and all sir… I would have thought Eddie Hobbs was a shoe-in most years myself. The most recent cover of ‘You and Your Money’ would have to clinch it… Personally I’m just waiting for the December issue. Eddie with Santa suit?

    Reply
  • 2. Michael Nugent  |  July 26, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    John, if you’ve only seen the cover of the latest edition of ‘You and Your Money’, you have a treat in store when you see the pictures of Eddie inside as a schoolboy and a medical consultant. It is truly a master class of the highest levels of eejitry. That said, who knows what exciting new eejits might emerge between now and Christmas?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

