The Irish Eurovision Poem

September 27, 2007 at 2:20 am 1 comment

John Cav of the New(ish) Journalism is thinking of adding creative writing to his blog. Huzzah! As a somewhat lazy form of encouragement, I have composed this deeply meaningful free-verse poem which consists of the first line of each of Ireland’s Eurovision Song Contest winners.

I’ve been waiting such a long time looking out for you;
I hear your voice on the wind, and I hear you call out my name.
Sometimes I watch you passing by my window,
Showing no emotion, my feelings locked inside.
I remember ’62, I was sixteen and so were you;
Don’t, don’t close your heart to how you feel…
Snowdrops and daffodils, butterflies and bees.

For maximum effect, you should read it slowly in a William Shatner voice. If you’re curious, here are the songs that they are the first lines of: >>>

The Songs

  • Line 1 – What’s Another Year, Johnny Logan, 1980
  • Line 2 – The Voice, Eimear Quinn, 1996
  • Line 3 – Why Me, Linda Martin, 1992
  • Line 4 – In Your Eyes, Niamh Kavanagh, 1993
  • Line 5 – Rock ‘n’ Roll Kids, Harrington and McGettigan, 1994
  • Line 6 – Hold Me Now, Johnny Logan, 1987
  • Line 7 – All Kinds of Everything, Dana, 1970
Entry filed under: Culture, Fun, Ireland.

Prank Letter to Michael D Higgins What Else Would You Do With a Battery?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John Cav  |  October 1, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Thank you for the mention sir. And might I add that your (hilarious) verse did indeed offer some encouragement, perhaps even inspiration… I have commenced with the creative writing, kinda. My attempt at said creation also involved an existing song.

    I re-imagined “Thou Shalt Always Kill” by Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip, giving it a distinctly Irish feel… Huzzah? Probably not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

