Prank Letter to JobNews Newspaper and Reply

October 12, 2007 at 1:55 am Leave a comment

Some of you may remember a paper called JobNews from when jobs were scarce in this part of the world. Well, here’s a prank letter that I sent to them:

Dear Editor,

Congratulations! At last, a newspaper devoted entirely to helping people to get a job. I’d love to be involved – is there any chance of a job working on JobNews? I’ll do anything!

Yours sincerely,
John Mackay

And here is the reply that I got: >>>

Reply from JobNews Newspaper

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write to me about JobNews. I’m delighted to hear that you are pleased to see our paper on the shelves and I certainly hope that with the support of you and many more readers we will go from strength to strength.

I appreciate your offer of working with JobNews but I regret to tell you that all our staff have been in place for some weeks prior to the launch and there is no immediate prospect of a vacancy. I am holding your file so that we can refer to you again should something arise in the near future.

I know that this is not the answer that you would want but I do hope that you will understand and hopefully JobNews will be able to deliver the job you are looking for in next week’s issue!

Good luck in the job hunt,

Brendan Barrett,
Publisher

PS I am returning your stamp to you as it is only fair that you shouldn’t be asked to pay for the right of reply.

More Prank Letters

I’ll be publishing more prank letters and replies here every few days.

Entry filed under: Fun, Ireland, Pranks.

Jailed Thugs is a Good Result for Irish Football Quiz – Ten Irish Bans and Condemnations

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

