Fairytale of Drumcondra

January 6, 2008 at 10:50 pm 5 comments

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me… a video of Fairytale of Drumcondra, Bertie Ahern and Digout Des Richardson’s version of Shane McGowan’s Fairytale of New York.

And here are the lyrics: >>>

Bertie:
It was Digout Eve, Des
In Drumcondra
An old friend said to me
D’you need another loan?
And then we sang a song
‘The Rare Old Money Due’
I turned my face away
And dreamed about Man U

Got on a lucky one
Came in a teensy loan
I’ve got a feeling
There’s careers for me and you
So Happy Digout
I love you, Dessie
I can see a better time
When the Tribunal’s through

Des:
We’ve got cars big as bars
We’ve got safes full of gold
But O’Neill goes right through you
It’s no place for the bold
When you first took my cash
On a cold Digout Eve
You never said
Mahon was waiting for me

You were handsome

Bertie:
You were pretty
good filling the kitty

Both:
When the bank finished counting
They howled out for more
Surprises were springing
Frank Dunlop was singing
We pissed on the voters
Then danced through the night

Now the boys of the Irish media
Are singing: ‘Go away’
And the bells are ringing out
For Digout Day

Des:
You’re a bum
You’re a punk

Bertie:
You’re an old slut on junk
You’ve left me for dead on my political bed

Paddy:
You scumbag, you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy Digout your arse
I pray God it’s our last

Both:
The boys of the Irish media
Still singing: ‘Go away’
And the bells are ringing out
For Digout Day

Bertie:
I could have been like Dev

Des:
Well, now you’re more like Bev
You took my cash from me
When I first found you

Bertie:
I kept it with me, Des
I put it in my safe
Don’t need another loan
I’ve built my house around you

Both:
The boys of the Irish media
Still singing: ‘Go away’
And the bells are ringing out
For Digout Day

Entry filed under: Fun, Ireland, News, Politics, Video, Videos by That's Ireland.

Quiz – Hot Press Quotes of the Year Monday Quiz 29 – Kerry Taliban and Sorry Lawyers

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fairytales at Gavin’s Blog  |  January 8, 2008 at 12:52 am

    […] [via] Share this post: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Fairytales at Public Inquiry  |  January 8, 2008 at 12:54 am

    […] [via] […]

    Reply
  • 3. John mcdermott  |  January 8, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Superb effort. Magic ! Pity its late for Christmas, but A great new year greeting U tube post card for your friends.

    Reply
  • […] FAIRY TALE OF DRUNCONDRA…a video of ‘Mugabe’ Ahern. […]

    Reply
  • 5. bundoran news  |  February 11, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Did any of these developers help the dig out

    Planning Corruption claims in Bundoran, Co. Donegal.
    Developers Connolly Contracts, Charles Fergus & Brendan Toland raised criticism over local resident /planning watchdog Ms. Patricia McCafferty, 46 Main Street, Bundoran who has appeals in An Bord Pleanala. Developers claim the allegations are unforunded and there is no proof. Ms. Patricia McCafferty claims the Council are ignoring Planning Acts and accept incomplete applications. Cllr Florence Doherty supported the local resident, that there is Planning Corruption, intimidation and incorrect plans are accepted. by Bundoran Town Council. Developers want Council to hold a special meeting to sort out once and for all these allegations, hopeully this will be a PUBLIC MEETING allowing real issues to come forward.
    As on Ocean Fm radio 11th February 2008

    Compliments,

    bundoranNEWS on BEBO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

