Irish Blog Awards 2008

March 2, 2008 at 12:22 am 8 comments

Congratulations to all of the winners at the Irish Blog Awards, and thanks to Damien and all who helped to organise the event. I’ve been blogging for several months now, but it’s only since the nominations for these awards were publicised that I realised how many excellent Irish blogs there are. >>>

Despite being an Arsenal fan, Twenty Major graciously accepted my comparison of his win with Liverpool’s three-in-a-row league titles in the 1980s. That said, he would have had to go back to the 1930s to counter with an Arsenal three-in-a-row.

It was good to catch up with Antoin again, who is now running a bus service as well as a blog. It was nice to meet Daragh and Darren. Thanks for the kind comments about my books. And I’ll be listening this week to Ross and Ken’s podcasts on Kilkenny Music.

James seemed to represent a new generation of Fianna Failers, untainted by the tendency of his leader to make up fairy-tales, until I read this blog entry, in which he entertainingly invents a quote by me that I started this blog specifically ‘to bring down Bertie’.

Finally, the main reason that I met so few other people is that I spent literally hours talking to Gavin and Anthony about the need for public accountability in Ireland. I know, I know, isn’t blogging so interesting?

That said, there were so many more people I was hoping to meet but didn’t. It would be nice to have some informal get-togethers every so often.

Entry filed under: Blogs, Ireland.

Eric Idle Sings about Fianna Fail Monday Quiz 37 – Health and Helicopters

8 Comments Add your own

  • […] and Stunned    • By Brian: Cue Blog Awards Music    • By Michael: Irish Blog Awards 2008    • And also by Maman Poulet, the full list of the Irish Blog Awards 2008 […]

    Reply
  • 2. Ken McGuire  |  March 3, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Didn’t get to catch up with you myself but Ross said ye were chatting away on Saturday. We’ll be recapping the madness of the night for Wednesday’s podcast, should be a bit of craic.

    Reply
  • 3. James Lawless  |  March 3, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Hey there, we seem to have been talking to most the same people, was a good night for sure, don’t worry about the quote, llike all good journalists (and politicians?) if I can’t remember I improvise – call it blogettic licence!

    Maybe we should have stuck to the football – I’m another red!

    Reply
  • 4. Darren  |  March 3, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    ‘Twas a pleasure meeting you Michael! Being new to the blogging world, I was delighted to meet so many welcoming, funny and clever people. As I said on Saturday, you’ve added your readership base by at least one anyway.

    Reply
  • 5. Gavin  |  March 3, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Very nice to meet you Michael, and sorry for taking up so much of your time…but many did we coin some ideas! lol

    Reply
  • 6. Michael Nugent  |  March 3, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Ken – I look forward to hearing that.

    James – The blogettic license will serve you well in Fianna Fail. 🙂 My football red credentials only stretch to Bohemians – embarrassingly, in English football, I follow Leeds 😦 though Steve Heighway was one of my favourite players when I was a kid. He was the only footballer of his day with a set of chewing-gum cards devoted entirely to himself.

    Darren – It was nice meeting you too, and good luck with the Movies Extra work.

    Gavin – I really enjoyed our chat – the time reference was merely acknowledging that our mutual interest in public accountability is something of a minority sport – so far!

    Reply
  • 7. Ken McGuire  |  March 3, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Ahhhhh!

    I’m some idiot… of course I got to catch up with you! Sorry it took so long at the bar for that Ballygowan!

    Might have been a bit foggy this morning 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. blankpaige  |  March 9, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Thanks for stopping by so often. Ciao, Paige

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about living in the maddest country on earth. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohemians football club in the 1970s.

Feeds

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Bionic Bohs

As mentioned above, if you like Irish football and/or cultural nostalgia, I also write Bionic Bohs, a blog about following Bohs in the 1970s.

